Skip to content ↓

School Organisation

The School Prospectus is designed to provide new and existing parents with information about the school.  Please use the links above to find out more information about us.  Should you like a copy of the whole prospectus please look at the Parents page from where it can be downloaded or contact the school using the contact information at the bottom of the left side bar on this, and every other, page.

School Organisation

The Vaynor First School is a Community School with places for 84 children in each of the five year groups from YR to Y4.  Each year group has 3 classes so the maximum class size is generally 28 pupils. However, due to the number of applications in 2009 Worcestershire County Council did raise this to 30 pupils, just for that year.  Class sizes are balanced across a year group. Some reorganisation of classes across a year group may take place at the end of Reception should we feel the balance is not quite right as we have got to know the characteristics of the class. However, children play together outside and learn together within a year group so this will not unduly phase the children, moreover this will always be done with pairs of friendships in mind so that children's emotional needs are addressed.

There are three Key Stages:

Key Stage   Age group  Year Group Usual reference in school communications
Early Years Foundation Stage 4/5 year olds   Reception    YR
Key Stage One  5/6 year olds       Year One    Y1
  6/7 year olds  Year Two Y2
Key Stage Two 7/8 year olds Year Three Y3
  8/9 years old  Year Four   Y4